RSS Feed

Review – Bridesmaids

Click poster for official site.

Click poster for official site.

With Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Rose Byrne, Melissa McCarthy, Jon Hamm. Directed by Paul Feig. Rated R for some strong sexuality, and language throughout. 120 minutes.

There are times when the job of film critic is to help people find movies they will enjoy or avoid movies they will not. The job is not one of imposing one’s opinion on others but giving people the benefit of the fact that the critic has seen the film in question and can advise accordingly. However, there are movies that are critic’s darlings where, as Samuel Goldwyn put it, the public stays away in droves. And then there are movies like BRIDESMAIDS that will probably be one of the big summer hits and actually garner some favorable reviews. It won’t change the fact that this is one of the most moronic, ineptly made and oft-times revolting movies to be released this year.

Lillian (Maya Rudolph) is getting married and asks her best friend since childhood, Annie (co-writer Kristen Wiig) to be her maid of honor. For the next two hours we go through various rituals leading up to the wedding supposedly made funny because Annie’s life is a mess and one of the other bridesmaids (Rose Byrne) is constantly showing her up. The fact that there isn’t a single likeable character in the film makes it hard to sympathize with any of them. Annie, for example, has empty sex with a man (Jon Hamm in an uncredited cameo) who is clearly using her, and can’t appreciate the local cop who is just as clearly a decent sort.

Each sequence has one joke that is driven into the ground by helmer Paul Feig. His amateurish direction here is surprising, considering his considerable involvement in two of television’s recent critic’s darlings, “Freaks And Geeks” and “Arrested Development.” Annie mixes drugs and alcohol on a plane trip. Yes, she will get tipsy and obnoxious. Once the point is made and there are no more laughs to wring from this thin premise, the scene goes on and on as if they’ve struck comedy gold. In another sequence, Annie takes the bridesmaids to a dive Mexican restaurant where they all get food poisoning. The hilarity doesn’t end there – they go to a bridal shop to try on dresses and not only do the women get to vomit on each other, but Lillian gets to experience diarrhea while in the middle of the street… in her wedding dress. That some people will find this funny is perhaps to be expected, if pitied, but that these same people will then praise the film for being character driven and emotionally satisfying is beyond belief.

With the possible exception of “The Dilemma,” which still has the crown as the year’s worst film, “Bridesmaids” is an abomination. We haven’t even gotten to bridesmaid Megan (Melissa McCarthy), whose character is both sexless and sex-starved, and whose brutishness is supposedly her most endearing quality. These are all one-note characters who spend most of the film alternating between being obnoxious and whining, when they’re not busy expelling bodily fluids.

It’s been a long time since this critic has come out of a screening so full of loathing for a film that it seemed large swaths of the moviegoing public was on the verge of embracing. One can hope for an outbreak of good taste deservedly sinking “Bridesmaids,” but when vomit is mistaken for wit, one can only stand way back, hold one’s nose and shake one’s head. •••

North Shore Movies has given this film a score of 1 out of 5.Daniel M. Kimmel is a veteran movie critic and author of a host of film-related books, the most recent being Jar Jar Binks Must Die… And Other Observations About Science Fiction Movies. He teaches film at Suffolk University and lives in Somerville.

About Daniel M. Kimmel

Film critic, author, lecturer.

92 responses »

  1. does this guy not know how to read faces, or find the deeper meaning of behind an everyday action? a funny movie that i related to on many levels. and from the sounds of roaring laughter in the audience, so did many others. i would hate to be this guy’s soul. i’d be like, let me out of this brain.

    Reply
    • Daniel M. Kimmel

      I have no problem laughing at funny movies, but it takes more to make me laugh that a woman soiling her wedding dress in the middle of a street or women vomiting on each other. Your mileage may vary.

      Reply
      • that was my least favorite scene, i actually had to look away during much of it. but to bash a movie so vehemently over 1 scenario when there is so much else to appreciate? i’ll bet you didn’t want to like this movie. it wasn’t “princess bride” genius, but funniest thing i’ve seen in a long time.

      • A small correction – the wedding dress in question was *not* the bride’s, but a sample the shop had in, created by the same designer.

        Having her soil her own gown would have been rather over-the-top cruel, I agree.

        This next bit is just my opinion, but from the look of her position, and her line about “ruining her shorts” in the scene just after (rather than commenting on “ruining an expensive dress”), it looked to me as if the dress in question actually managed to escape unscathed, and only served to hide what was happening from passers-by.

        And as a woman who likely could be characterized as “brutish” myself, in looks if nothing else, I quite liked Megan’s character. Even when I didn’t agree with her behavioral choices, I liked the fundamental character, and have to say that she seemed quite happy and level-headed. She made weird work for her.

        Opinions of course will vary – but I was dragged to this movie against my will tonight, and ended up quite enjoying it.

      • Anita Lippman

        I thought I was the only person on the planet who thought this movie was awful…people (those I respect) told me it was hilarious – imagine my surprise to find a movie poorly written, basically boring and having not a single character I cared about – the vulgarity seemed minor in comparison to the dull story we had to sit through. I wish I had read your review prior to seeing this dreadful film. Thanks for writing an honest and intelligent review.

    • Honestly, who cares what Mr. Kimmel or any other critic thinks? I really, really liked this movie, granted i’m biased because i adore Kristin Wiig, but I can understand why someone wouldn’t like it. He offered up some interesting points,albeit with a bit of a pompous air, but worth consideration nonetheless. There’s certainly no reason to lambaste the guy for having an opinion. He’s right in saying that a critic’s job is to assist those who are like minded in finding movies that they’ll enjoy and to help them avoid ones they may not. Plus it’s not like we’re talking about Fellini or Sorcese here; It’s a pop comedy that isn’t trying to be anything but. So, everyone needs to just chill.

      Reply
    • Bridesmaids was as much of a waste of money as Hangover 2-which had to be one of the most awkward sequels I have ever seen. So disappointing, because the first Hangover was actually quite funny. I noticed that many of the positive responses for Bridesmaids were from men. Is this movie an attempt to entertain men also, in a chick flick?
      First off, why did most of the actors have English accents? That completely through me off. Secondly, the photography was more that of a reality television show, than what one expects in a movie. Very stark and dreary. The actors tried very hard to pull this one off, but the dialogue was poor. The jokes were just embarrassing, not funny. Get with the times-slapstick and poop jokes are not funny.

      Reply
  2. Karen Chapman

    I hope anyone reading my comment COMPLETELY disregards Mr. Kimmel’s review which is plainly judgmental. I haven’t laughed this hard in a movie since “Nine to Five”. As many men as women in the audience thought it was funny too, so it’s not just a chick flick; it is real comedic genius. Hurray for Kristen Wiig who plays her role believably and adorably!

    Reply
  3. There will always be one critic who doesn’t get it.

    Reply
  4. Karen Engel Atkinson

    New “First Date in Hell” vision: Sitting with Daniel Kimmel while we watch “Bridesmaids.” I am laughing so hard I can barely sit upright while he grits his teeth and feels superior to the rest of the world. Repeat for all eternity.

    Reply
  5. This is a sad example of a prudish critic unamused by crude and immature humor thrashing a movie undeserving of his attacks. The awkward scenes that seem to be drawn out attempts to wring out every ounce of humor aren’t poor directing; to me they were innovative and stylish. They kept an uncomfortable audience writhing in the hilarity until the very last note. Did you watch this movie alone?

    Reply
    • Daniel M. Kimmel

      Why is it that people who disagree have to engage in personal attacks? Can you not deal with differences of opinion? Prudish? Hardly. The inept direction was not “innovative and stylish.” It was beating a dead horse. I saw the movie at a sneak preview and the fact that other people laughed didn’t make me feel I had to write a positive review. I’m offering my take on the movie, not playing “Family Feud.”

      Reply
      • Its more of a characterization than an insult; this isn’t middle school. I’m just saying you shouldn’t rip the movie because you didn’t get the humor. It’s like you didn’t see that they were drawing out the sequences on purpose and doing a pretty good job of keeping the crowd engaged. It seems disingenuous to me that you started off a review with “The job of film critic is to help people find movies they will enjoy or avoid movies they will not,” and clearly you missed it with this review. If 9/10 people that go and see this movie like it, and you give it a 1/5…you’re not very good at your job.

      • Mr. Kimmel, you say in your review that you pity people who enjoy this movie and that they are devoid of good taste. I must admit I’m surprised that a person so eager to insult people would scream foul when labeled prudish.

        It’s also odd that you say the movie is devoid of any likable characters, and, in the very next sentence, question why the protagonist doesn’t fall for the likable cop.

        I guess they’ll let anybody write movie reviews these days.

      • I think Josh has you on this one….

      • i’m still chuckling at the phrase that says perhaps you ‘didn’t get the humor’. ha! it’s pretty sophomoric humor (and uneven at best). i can’t think of anybody i know (except my 7 year old nephew) who wouldn’t “get” the humor. that doesn’t make it funny. and surely doesn’t make it a good movie. ((lots of very nervous, self-conscious laughter at our showing today))

      • Agreed.

    • I wish I had seen this review before wasting $11 on a movie ticket! Mr. Kimmel is now on my Favorite Reviewers list for having the courage to speak the unpopular truth. Let’s face it – this movie is clearly poorly made and moronic. If you loved it – that’s fine. If you are attacking Mr. Kimmel it is probably because you have enough sense to deep down realize that this movie truly is for morons! Be happy – you apparently have plenty of company!

      Reply
  6. In all honesty, I went to watch the film with high expectations (see Rottentomatoes ratings) and yes, there were many times where I couldn’t help but laugh out loud or chuckle. Honestly, though, it was the kind of laughter that comes from humor that either makes you cringe or think “I can’t believe they just put that in a film…it’s so retarded…so retarded that you have to laugh at it”.

    In any case, my opinion is…it’s funny but for all the wrong reasons, relies HEAVILY on gimmicks and lacks any sort of character development. No character learns ANYTHING from their experiences in the film. Sorry, the movie is a dud to me.

    Reply
    • Well said. I agree.

      Reply
      • Ditto. It was insulting to women! (all the folks who suppose that i would have liked this if it’d be male writers/actors are so so wrong). thank you for speaking the truth here… i was starting to think i’d lost my marbles. i SO wish i had those two hours back~~

    • This is exactly what I thought after seeing this movie. I was expecting this to be “The Hangover” but with women and it was anything but. And the pacing was all over the place. From slapstick comedy to a woman being thrown out of bed by the sex buddy when he’s done with her. And you’re supposed to feel what for whom excatly? You’re right…no one learns anything, the characters are all one dimensional and there is no lesson to be learned from this 2 hour long SNL skit.
      And I have a GREAT sense of humor.

      I agree 100% with the critics review.

      Reply
    • Dan,

      I agree the movie was a gimmick. I thought it was funny and I enjoyed it, but I doubt I will watch or enjoy it again. It was a cheap way to people’s hearts (and wallets).

      Reply
    • There were scenes that I was disgusted by, but the heart of the movie was real. The main character’s downward spiral was believable, and I don’t think we need to mock the disabled to critique the movie.

      Reply
  7. Anyways, long story short:

    PLOT = choppy
    HUMOR = gimmicky

    CHARACTERS = i hated them all except for the cop. the hot bridesmaid was ok since she actually seemed to have a little character development (i.e. she tried to apologize for her misbehavior…even when the maid of honor didn’t). Maid of honor also blames everyone else except for herself the whole movie.

    ACTING = horrible. I just imagined the lead actress doing her stupid SNL retard brother + sister skit face the whole movie. Please, I know you can do a lot better than this.

    Reply
  8. Glad to see that someone else did not like this movie. Did not find it funny at all. My friend that was high also did not find this movie funny. There were funny moments, but overall the movie sucked. I liked The Hangover, and heard that this movie had similar humor. I was definitely disappointed.

    Reply
  9. I agree with your review for the most part. Don’t know if I would’ve worded things quite as strongly, but I certainly found the movie to be lacking in the brilliance that I was told to expect. I didn’t think it was exceptionally bad, just average, I guess. I felt like the jokes were too familiar to be terribly effective. On top of that, the characters were just vehicles for the humor. I felt like you could see a joke coming long before it happened, because it was so clear that each character was just a set piece sliding into place for the next big knee slapper. Another thing I found annoying: absolutely NO subtlety. The bitchy girl was supposed to be this sort of “insidious” friend stealer, but there was nothing insidious about her. They made her antics painfully obvious, as if the creators didn’t trust the audience’s powers of perception. I could go on, but I’ll stop. I feel like this is very typical of comedy though, that’s why I don’t think of this as below average. I hated the hangover, didn’t care for the wedding crashers, etc… I just don’t like popular comedy, it seems.

    Reply
  10. Spot on review – an absolutely loathsome, revolting, and – to add insult to injury! – OVERLONG mess. “Prudishness” not an issue… some very funny movies CAN be made which feature rough language, coarse humor and the like, but that doesn’t mean that throwing those over the audience in industrial doses will MAKE a movie funny. Amazingly bad. Apparently many other critics around the country have either taken leave of their senses OR think they have to give the film high marks for the novelty of seeing female leads participate in this sort of unfunny sewer-tour. Avoid like the plague.

    Reply
  11. Thank you for seeing the light. I decided to see this movie because I wanted a laugh. The movie ended with me waiting to have that laugh.

    I loved The Hangover and Wedding Crashers. I found this movie to be NOTHING like either of those far superior comedic films.

    I am utterly shocked that so many people loved this film. I’ve been telling everyone that apparently I am in the minority when it comes to hating this film. But there you have it, I hated it and found it disgusting and humorless.

    The only bright spot to the film? The chemistry and scenes with Kristin Wiig and the cop. That’s it.

    Reply
  12. I could not agree more with your review. I was terribly disappointed with this film in nearly every aspect.

    Reply
  13. Well, although I did find parts of the movie very funny, I must agree with Daniel Kimmel on many of his observations. The plane scene DID go on and on, in my opinion (which wound up diluting the deserved laughs at its start)…and I thought the microphone-stealing speech scene also dragged on too long (again, funny the first couple of times, but then it just grew ridiculous). Half-way through, I felt like the movie lost its way: too many scenes lingered too long, while other stories never really developed. And don’t even get me started with the hokey Wilson Philips ending! Some good, hearty laughs aside, I left disappointed. And I wasn’t alone.

    Reply
  14. I had such hopes for this movie based on the Rotten Tomatoes rating. Now I wish I had read your review before I went. Almost everything about this movie was disgusting and, even worse, unfunny. There was very little laughter in the theater today. The scene at the Parisian shower was the one that I thought was the most ridiculous. You could never forgive anyone for that behavior. Also, is there anyone else out there who finds excessive profanity offensive? I do not want to sound out of touch, but enough is enough.

    Reply
    • Daniel M. Kimmel

      Critics offer their opinions. The best way to use critics is not to see what the majority says but to find someone who is on your wavelength. Read a bunch of reviews of movies you’ve already seen. When you find someone with whom you agree or who gives you new insights into the movie, make a note. Then see what THAT person has to say next time you’re trying to figure out if a movie is worth seeing.

      Reply
  15. Interesting that Mr Kimmel hates this movie but finds Something Borrowed is worth 3/5 stars. I guess run of the mill rom-coms are far more deserving of American’s money. I loved this movie, its so rare that we see a truly hilarious female driven comedy that isn’t filled with giant cliches and all around perfect characters. People have flaws Mr. Kimmel. Apparently crude humor produced by flawed characters is only funny when its done by men. I assume you will respond to my comment as you seem to respond to anyone that has anything to say that goes against you’re ridiculously over-the-top negative review.

    Reply
    • Daniel M. Kimmel

      Since you insist: I thought “The Hangover” was moronic and overrated as well.

      Reply
      • Well i guess you won the debate then, as the Hangover is the only movie that fits my description. But that’s good to know: Bridesmaids and the Hangover are the worst movies ever, but Something Borrowed is pretty good.

  16. Kimmel was spot on with his review. The high percentage of favorable reviews tendered by the public are understood and expected, but I can’t understand or explain why so many of his fellow and credentialed (supposedly) critics gave a thumbs up to this shallow, crude, gross, and poorly conceived/written/directed mess?? Confirms that “I” am indeed a “Stranger In A Strange Land”. I didn’t “Grok” it at all!

    Reply
  17. Daniel M. Kimmel

    Actually I had a lot of problems with “Something Borrowed” which anyone who had actually read my review would know. But compared to “Bridesmaids” it is, comparatively, “pretty good.”

    Reply
  18. I have to agree with you about this movie being an absolute disaster. Isn’t the main character supposed to be liked? Instead they put in a depressed, jealous, insecure whore as the person we have to follow the whole film. This girl reminds me of the type of woman I avoid when dating.

    Let’s also not forget about the absolutely horrible acting from her love interest, Officer Rhodes. I ended up walking out of the theater towards the end of the film, after she arrives at Helen’s house. The movie just became unbearable. Easily the worst movie of the year.

    Reply
    • I rather have a realistic character (IE. what you called the depressed, jealous, insecure whore); than a perfectly put-together city princess who has the perfect job, education, looks, and has everything together except for her love life.

      The main character in Bridesmaid’s is RELATABLE in one aspect or another, which is probably one of the strongest assets of this movie.

      I loved this movie because it had such ridiculously over-the-top stereotypes who can be found in this modern age. Hell, I’ve dealt with a washed down version (and I mean really washed down version) of the same situation with my best friend. So yeah, Bridesmaids equates to awesome in my books :D!

      Reply
  19. Why DID so many critics give this a positive review? Or VERY positive reviews? I am honestly completely mystified. I totally “get” that it makes sense for a fan to find a critic on a similar wavelength, when it comes to getting a feel for what to see, but granting that – how can it be that 80-90% of the reviews for this amazingly awful movie were positive?

    Reply
    • It boggles my mind as well.

      I love stupid funny movies (like Zoolander, Scary Movie 3, etc) and I loved The Hangover and Wedding Crashers, but to put this movie in the same league as them is asinine. It’s not even close.

      I’ve resigned myself to being only a few people who didn’t like this movie and will forever be scratching my head at the ones that loved it and thought it was hilarious.

      Reply
  20. Hey, there’s still a factual error in this review. I pointed it out in my earlier comment.

    Differing opinions are all well and good, but getting facts wrong isn’t.

    Reply
  21. I was under the impression that this would be the female version of “The Hangover”, a movie that I didn’t love as much as a lot of other folks, but enjoyed enough to pay to see it done in a unique, groundbreaking way. But this reviewer has it right, it just didn’t work at all.

    -Kristen Wiig can’t carry a movie; she was boring, predictable, and unlikeable, the exact opposite of what you want in a comedy. I would have loved to have seen more of McLendon-Covey and Erin from “The Office”; that was talent that went regrettably by the wayside. What made “The Hangover” entertaining was that all the actors had a chance to shine. The movie’s called “Bridesmaids”, but we pretty much only saw two. Disappointing 😦

    -Feig, who I love directing TV, really held it back. For a guy who directed quickly paced, smart sitcoms like “The Office” “arrested” and “Sunny”, the scenes absolutely DRaGGED (plane scene, speech scene, shitting in the dress scene, everything)! I also had serious issues with the tone; I’m still confused as to what kind of movie it was trying to be. The “big, cheap” laughs weren’t big or cheap enough, but if he was trying to go the other way, the comedy wasn’t believable or grounded either.

    -Finally (and this is just a personal nitpick), shouldn’t there be a bachelorette party in a movie called “Bridesmaids”? They couldn’t have done a three minute scene set in Vegas? Was it a budget thing? Completely killed the momentum of the movie.

    But having said that, I’m glad the movie is doing so well because I think there’s room for an all female cast in this genre. I hope more of these types of movies get made (female stoner comedy *Natalie Portman? Please!)

    But you need MOVIE stars to make MOVIES. Get Phillips or McKay at the helm for the next one.

    Reply
  22. I didn’t like the movie, either. I’m a woman, but I’m really not into seeing a movie about the whole bridesmaid ordeal. But, I went because I love the women of SNL and figured they would spoof the whole experience and make it hilarious. Nope, way too much of the sappy “are you still my good friend” brand for me. I’ll be looking forward to Hangover II. LOVED Hangover I. Maybe that is the problem. Bridesmaids is no Hangover, and I was hoping it would be! Still love the women of SNL, though… and the groom’s sister was HILARIOUS and awesome 🙂

    Reply
  23. I half agree with the reviewer– this move had it’s moments– but often resorted to cliches and predictability. The dump in the street was hilarious– the reviewer missed the point about that– it is funny because we have all been in situations like that where it almost happens. So we can relate to it, but here it actually happens!! There are not that many good comedies out there, and I think this one is worthwhile for sure.

    Reply
  24. Mr. Kimmel,

    Don’t give away major jokes from the movie in your review. This is rude and lazy writing:

    “but Lillian gets to experience diarrhea while in the middle of the street… in her wedding dress”

    Not only are you ruining the joke for someone who might enjoy it, you’re also sarcastically reappropriating a joke from the very movie you’re putting down- which is obnoxious, lazy, and insincere.

    Other reviewers spoiled this same joke, but they did it out of excitement not spite. I’m willing to let it slide in their case, but not you who writes from an angry chair.

    Reply
    • Not to mention the fact that it’s *not* her wedding dress she’s wearing – it’s a sample the dress shop had from another designer.

      Reply
      • Daniel M. Kimmel

        This is now the THIRD time you posted this. Even if I concede you are correct — and I have no desire to watch the film against and see — it is an utterly trivial point. This is a movie that thinks a woman losing control of her bowels in the middle of the street while wearing a wedding dress is the height of comedy. That makes it repulsive, regardless of whether it is her dress or a “sample.”

  25. The comment above mine perfectly captures your incredibly reductive opinion. I don’t understand how you can take such a subjective stance on a comedy that is much simpler than you make it to be. You should be more open-minded, embrace the ludicrousness of the film a bit..

    Reply
  26. “Each sequence has one joke that is driven into the ground by helmer Paul Feig.” — YEEEES! This review is spot-on. If you are amused by a joke and then want to hear it retold 85 times in a row, this movie is for you. A perfect example is the scene where the main character and the rival bridesmaid alternate giving a toast at the bridal shower. Very moderately amusing the first time. Rather boring and a complete waste of my time by the 50th time they repeated that joke.

    Reply
  27. a comedy written by women, starring women, that did not revolve around men and instead revolved around female friendships, how we relate to each other, and the way we’re SUPPOSED to feel about and act around men but don’t- i’ll take it.

    Reply
  28. I agree 100% with this review. If I wasn’t with other female friends who enjoyed it I’d have walked out. It made me feel sad, none of the women seemed to care about each other — in fact it was clear they hated each other — and it focused on cliche female insecurities. Plus all the close ups of their faces were too much. I thought I’d like it, I tend to enjoy movies that I’ve heard some people consider over-the-top or gross-out movies: Dumb & Dumber, The Hangover, Ace Venture (both), Austin Powers (1st one only), Knocked-Up, etc. But I regretted spending time and money on this.

    Reply
  29. I’m sorry that you feel that way. I’m not going to bash you for disagreeing with my tastes since your job as a critic doesn’t mandate that your views line up with mine.

    However, I do question the depths to which you seem to hold contempt for this movie. I thought it was very good. I also agree with you that The Hangover was pretty massively overrated. I’m not sure where that leaves us. You may disagree (and you clearly do — vehemently), but I hope that your review doesn’t drive many away from seeing a movie that’s leaving me short on applicable positive hyperbole in this comment (and I mean that in a good way).

    The one aspect of your review I did take exception to was how it felt like you were implying that anybody who does happen to like the movie is a mental midget. You ask “Why is it that people who disagree have to engage in personal attacks?” But in my opinion, you goaded a few people into launching those attacks.

    That’s all.

    Reply
  30. The restaurant is Brazilian not Mexican–a point made in the film.

    Reply
  31. Thank you for telling the truth about this movie. It was cringe worthy in many, many scenes. The thing that’s too bad is that it was actually funny in others, like the scene where the two women are trying to top one another in toasting their friend. And the romance, which could have been very sweet, was overshadowed by all the disgusting, unfunny stuff. It also bothered me that Annie was sort of meant to be the heroine–a woman who is very good at something, who has a dream and a valuable lifelong friendship–but then she does all these execrable things to that best friend. Thankfully, this kind of behavior happens only in movies–but not the kind of movies I want to see.

    Reply
    • Weirdly enough, I thought the toasting scene was by far the most cringe-worthy scene in the whole movie; I was laughing hysterically, but I also couldn’t watch. Also, do you really believe that that kind of stuff only happens in movies? Maybe the street-shitting wasn’t very realistic, but the deterioration of relationships based on jealousy and depression and feelings of impotence is a very real scenario that happen to many friends and couples.

      Reply
  32. Did the plane scene go on too long? Yes. Was the (**ahem**) Brazilian food-induced vomit/diarrhea-fest over the top, if still somehow hilarious (especially Megan’s “Don’t look at me!”)? Sure.

    But I disagree about the characters all being loathsome. Annie is in a funk and it takes her most of the movie to realize that her mess is not everybody else’s fault, but that is reality. Main characters should be flawed people who make a few choices that make you want to yell at them, because that is how real people often act in their midlife crises.

    Also, I don’t get your criticism of Megan. I thought she was the best overall person and example in the whole movie; she was weird, but she was confident in herself, and she was the one who doles out the movie’s ultimate “message” (not that this movie was ever intended to be emotional or profound).

    But ultimately, I think you may have missed the trees for the forest. Sure, it has over-the-top humor, but it also has a TON of subtle, clever, and, most importantly, original humor lurking within, and that is what makes the movie great. It’s the realistic awkwardness and one-sideness of sex – and the way female friends talk about it, the obnoxiously “perfect” woman serving to remind the main character of her own lack of accomplishment, the dialogue between two characters (Annie and Rhodes (sp?)) who are clever and funny, but also human and awkward. What this movie does that so few do is portray woman candidly; as real people who can not only be just as gross and vulgar as men, but who are also capable of being shitty people when things aren’t going well for them – something that everybody has in common.

    Reply
  33. margretHamilton

    I always thought summary lines of responders like “prude” or “chill” was all I needed to hear. It’s there way of downplaying the excessive distaste too often accompanying the “humor.” Que to readers: For some people, not just critics like Daniel Kimmel, it RUINS the joke for us. And it does not take too many at all to ruin the movie for us. So if I have to turn away more than once because my psyche or my sould can’t take it, it’s a bad movie! For you, it’s a good movie, a funny movie. Fine —- thanks be to God he did not make us all the same. I couldn’t handle being your type.

    Reply
  34. It’s okay everyone–don’t be mad. This D. Kimmel guy’s like ancient! Of course he’s not going to like this… He’s probably reminiscing about LA CONFIDENTIAL, the last good movie he’s seen. LOL

    Reply
      • First of all, I am a 24 year woman who enjoys comedies. I went into this movie expecting it to be hilarious. Instead I found the lead character to be depressing and unlikable. I agree with everything you said in your review Mr. Kimmel. I wait for the day where a good comedy staring women is released. Why is that the funniest thing women can do in movies is to be nasty to each other. Seriously, there has to be funnier story lines than a grown woman calling a little girl the c word. How is that remotely funny. The only reason I laughed during this movie is because it was the only way to relieve the uncomfortable tension. Amy Poehler and Rashida Jones on parks and rec are an example of an actually funny and genuine female friendship on tv.

      • margretHamilton

        JB — I really appreciated your comments, and from a 24 year old female no less. Essentially you are saying that you are an open-minded individual to matters not in your comfort zone, and yet, that does not mean it’s an “anything goes” world. In other words, there are some basic human decency standards that if violated destroy the message or the humor. Like Hollywood so often resorts to things that are gross as their idea of humor. This is so depressing. Plus you make mention of one of the woman calling and 8 year old girl the ‘c’ word. Pitiful. One thing you can be sure of these days — there are no movies out there a parent can watch with his older child or teen without feeling totally embarrassed or uncomfortable many times throughout the film. I’m very critical of this. Thanks again for your submission.

  35. Bridesmaids was more funny and poignant than I expected. I’m not saying it is a classic comedy, but I laughed so hard that I cried at some points, and cringed at others, waiting for them to be over. There was some gross out scenes (but, honestly, if you have ever had bad food poisoning (I have) you will see the reality in this (not that people WANT to watch the results of bad food poisoning…but it’s true to life!) I really did like this movie, for all that it did bog down and get a bit long. The engagement party toast scene was excrutating! Just like SNL, it got carried too far… I loved all the main female characters, although the “red head” bridesmaid and the blonde “bad mother” bridesmaid were underused. I really did like the “Megan” (Melissa McCarthy) character and I didn’t think I would, based on the trailers. Kudos to her for making a sympathetic character out of one that could have been a caricature. Lastly, as a spouse of a WI State Trooper, not one thing that character did or did not do in this movie was accurate, but even my spouse will love the scene where Annie (Wiig) tries to get his attention…

    Reply
  36. It’s a horrible movie for all the reasons Mr. Kimmel stated. I walked out and went next door to see Pirates of the Carribean again instead. It is an insult to women. I’m amazed at the gross moronic writing that passes for humor these days. Don’t be fooled into thinking this is a funny “chick flick” and bring your mom or your daughter to it. Don’t waste your time and money.

    Reply
  37. Thanks Dan. This was one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen (my wife felt the same way). Boring, inept, disgusting at times, overlong scenes with constant beating of dead horses. The characters were all shrill and unlikable. The plot when it wasn’t being gross was completely predictable (would she get together with the policeman – ya think?). I don’t remember a time when the consensus reviews were so completely off on a movie. Maybe from now on we’ll just rely on Dan Kimmel’s reviews to screen out the turkeys.

    Reply
  38. I loved this movie! Laughed my ass off, not because I ain’t got class, but because underneath all the gross humor were real characters struggling with real issues.

    I appreciated the authenticity of the male/female pairings. In guy versions of this same type of film, Adam Sandler/Will Ferrell/Kevin James/Seth Rogen/etc. (none very attractive) are always married to or dating some hottie who would be way out of their league in real life. It drives me insane.

    The friendship between Kristen Wiig and Maya Rudolph was touching and believable (to me, anyway).

    The mom with the three boys was hysterical — I have 3 boys and knew exactly what she was talking about. Megan was weird but had a huge heart and pulled off her scenes flawlessly.

    I rooted for Kristen Wiig’s character the whole time. It’s hard out there, and sometimes you get confused by what you think you want vs. what’s good for you (Jon Hamm vs. Irish cop).

    I loved that there were no giant stars, and each person embraced their character.

    Bridesmaids was so much more than just the throw up scene. I related to it on many levels and will go see it again. Yay Kristen Wiig!

    Reply
  39. Right on Dan! I wouldn’t even call this review negative – intelligent is the right term. Bridesmaids is a complete and utter abortion of a movie and I’m surprised it made it to theaters. It’s not often I walk out of a movie and say ‘god, that’s one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen’, but that’s how I felt here. I could spend hours breaking down every scene and explain what was wrong or missing or poorly done it isn’t worth the assured anger that would come from me basically re-writing the entire movie. I mean, seriously, there is just too much stupidity in this thing for me to handle. And it’s not Apatow or Kristen Wiig’s or anyone else’s fault, really; the issue here is what we, as a culture, find funny and entertaining and good. We seem to suffer from some systemic cancer that’s taken over our brains and told us women sh*tting in the street is both hilarious and also a sign that women are now somehow enlightened and funny. And guess what? Women are funny! I don’t understand how any pseudo-feminist or any other woman with a sense of self respect would remark with glee that is is some “comedy revolution”. It’s a step back, and not just for women. It’s a shameful, insulting, idiotic waste of time for men, too.

    Reply
  40. Thank you for this review, I completely agree. I literally felt pity for the actresses who had to make this film while watching it, most of all Melissa McCarthy. How is this a movie that is supposed to prove women are funny when all it does is show them soiling themselves and hating their lives.

    Reply
  41. I hated this movie as well and wish I could get the $13.50 I spent on it back.

    Dan Kimmel, thank you for administering such an astute review. “Haters gonna hate,” but keep speaking the truth.

    Reply
  42. so. disappointed.
    almost mad, actually.
    I was so looking forward to an edgy, taut, female centric comedy.
    I kept waiting for the funny….sitting through the sh**ing scene, the airplane scene, the bridal shower scene….wondering when the stuff everyone has been raving about was going to kick in…. .and it never did…the cliched, rehashed gags with unlikeable one dimensional characters, I felt almost resentful that I am supposed to like this crap just because a woman made it?? These women are much more talented than this hack job.
    I’d rather have spent that 2 hours watching reruns of ’30 Rock’ and ‘Sex in the City’
    your criticism was right on.

    Reply
  43. It was funny and smart and very observant on many levels.This review just doesn’t get it right.

    Reply
  44. You sir, have not the first clue what a well directed film would look like if it bit you in the armpit. And certainly you should not consider yourself an expert on the romcom if a 1/5 is the best you can do for the best anti-romantic comedy since 2 days in Paris. If you have a woman in your life, girlfriend, wife, whatever, watch it witch her. Watch her piss herself at the perfection of Wigg’s performance and the subtle perfection of the script. I am a filmmaker and someone who, growing up with a mother, three sisters, a female cousin, and a grandmother opposite myself and my father, watched A LOT of romcoms over the years. The writing of this film is amazing. The characters, the subtlety with which a SNL actress was able to carry this film, the timing, the distinct lack of unrealistic polish which romcoms are usually saturated in… This film was the sort that come along once every few years, a true and poignant and hilarious insight into the world of women. If you didn’t get this film (you didn’t.), it is because you don’t know women.

    Reply
    • I find this comment pretty insulting to women to think that they would all just love this movie and that this movie represents women in some form. if you read the comments here you will see plenty of women that hated it along with men who did watch it with their wives/girlfriends/etc and said they all hated it as well. This is the worst movie I have ever seen. My fiancee thinks the same thing. This cannot hold up to anything like His Girl Friday, Amelie, or Annie Hall; it can’t even measure up to a movie like How To Marry a Millionaire. There wasn’t a single laugh in this movie. Granted, I didn’t make it all the way through as I quit 3/4ths of the way through. It was just that bad and totally dragged on for no good reason. It didn’t add anything to have the jokes go on and on for minutes. It would have benefited greatly from them being cut shorter, but I still didn’t even find the jokes funny to begin with. This movie was largely targeted to women who watch Teen Mom and Jersey Shore and listen to Ke$ha. I’m sure it hits home with other audiences too, but I find it hard to believe that self-respecting, forward-thinking, intelligent women were the market for this movie and I doubt they are championing it in droves.

      Reply
      • Chalk me up as another woman who couldn’t freaking STAND this movie. One of my coworkers bragged that his wife was marking the days on the calendar till this movie hit the DVD shelves so she could buy herself a copy, and I was like, what the heck?? IMO, movies like “Muriel’s Wedding” are far richer, warmer, and better-written stories about women’s friendships and the yearning for the “perfection” of married life than this piece of drivel. Ulgh. I utterly detested “Bridesmaids!”

  45. My issue with the film was my inability to believe someone would put themselves through all this. The character Helen repeatedly demonstrates that she isn’t a good friend. Lillian watches Helen give Annie drugs and then is upset with Annie for acting weird on the plane. Any reasonable person would be mad at Helen as well, but we are stuck watching Annie get awkwardly mistreated over and over and over again. That’s not funny to me. I don’t enjoy watching people become so desperately unhappy while the other characters refuse to act like genuine and/or decent people. Helen was so overt about how awful of a person she was, and no one cared, even after she threw the French bridal shower.

    And I think it’s rude to say a reviewer isn’t allowed to disagree with you. No one movie can be liked by everyone. You can’t say that differing taste are a sign of personality flaws.

    Reply
    • Wow, Casey, I can’t believe someone else made the same observations as me re: Annie’s character and the shitting-on she took at the expense of a few cheap laughs. I was thinking the same thing re: your comment here that “Lillian watches Helen give Annie drugs and then is upset with Annie for acting weird on the plane. Any reasonable person would be mad at Helen as well, but we are stuck watching Annie get awkwardly mistreated over and over and over again.” Humiliation comedy, where a humanly flawed character with real problems and genuine traumas gets shit on and bullied repeatedly–even by the supposed “nice-guy” police-officer boyfriend, who can’t even see outside his own self-centeredness to recognize the real pain his girlfriend is going through–is NOT funny to me, either.

      To your point, what kind of a “friend” does that make Lillian’s character as well? We’re supposed to believe that she and Annie are lifelong friends, but Lillian either willfully ignores what Annie is going through WRT her financial situation or is just too plain stupid and self-centered herself to empathize with her friend being stuck in a rut. She makes NO effort to tell Helen to cool it or to back off, even though that stuck-up bitch makes it clear that she’s trying to one-up Annie on everything imaginable. All of the characters–yes, the police officer included–are too proud of themselves and stuck in their own superficial worlds to care about each other, or to care about a friend in need who’s right in front of them. Thus, I shut off the Blu-Ray player not giving too much of a shit about them, either.

      Reply
  46. You are too generous. There must be an logical explanation
    for the success of this movie besides differences of opinion.
    I think I know, chemtrails, morgellions, HAARP:)

    Reply
  47. I completely agree with Kimmel! I had several friends who I respect say that they this film was unbelievably funny so I wasted a good $12 dollars on ticket! Kimmel you are courageous for going against the grain of popular belief and I thank you for that.

    Reply
  48. Well said, Daniel. This movie was two words for me: Predictable Comedy. I cannot believe how many good reviews this movie got. I will say one thing, Kristen Wiig’s acting was superb and she owned her role. But, the humor just was not there. I only laughed a few times. I saw reviews where people were laughing for minutes on end, I guess I saw the wrong movie. I could see the jokes coming from a mile away and that is not usually what I see when Apatow is behind the scenes. Usually it is a little slapstick, some over-the-top comedy, but this really did not have it. The potential was there, but sometimes when it comes to comedy, too much thinking by the writers is what keeps this movie from being one the best rom-com’s featuring a predominantly female cast in movie history.

    Reply
  49. I actually agree with the reviewer here. There is next to nothing redeemable about this movie. The lead character is SO unlikeable. The jokes are extremely tired. I watched this with my girlfriend expecting her to enjoy it. She was disappointed, and so was I… why would you create a lead character who is such a jerk, and doesn’t even try or want to become a better person? Give me my 2 hours back, hollywood

    Reply
  50. One of the worst movies I’ve ever seen.

    Reply
  51. An excellent review, thank you. This is a truly appalling film. The main character really is as dull as ditchwater and her best friend is even slightly duller, her boyfriend is an entire bore and her new love interest is only refreshing because he just manages to reach up to workaday reality levels of charisma. I noticed one joke that remotely worked – the scene in which the female brit flat-mate tries to sooth her tattoo with a bag of peas – the other attempts at humour were drawn out and lifeless. Watch this movie and you will continually cringe with embarrassment for both the writer and cast

    Reply
  52. Sorry I’m a bit late to the party, but my husband and I watched this movie a couple months ago on Blu-Ray, and I agree with you 100%. I just don’t get the hype. As a woman, I’m most insulted by the notion that this movie is somehow “liberating” or “feminist” when what I gathered from it was the tired old notion that a woman is never fully “together” until she lands that perfect man.

    I have to admit (see my reply to Casey above) that I did feel sympathy for Annie’s character when many movie critics and friends and audience members did not–how is it exactly Annie’s “fault” that her business failed due to the recession hitting? She was shown as a talented baker and decorator who must have had some business sense to start her own bakery to begin with, so clearly she had been an independent, entrepreneurial type at one time. It takes a lot of courage, conviction, and commitment to start and run your own business! In our economy (and not to mention our country with its shoddy safety net), it is all too common for small business owners to fall into a spiral of depression when their ventures fail–this could’ve been a realistic portrayal, but shame on Wiig and her writing partner for turning it into a cheap caricature in the long run.

    And when Annie does nurse her wounds and try to get her life back on track now that she’s living with her mom? What’s the first thing she does? She bakes an apology cake for her man. She doesn’t try to pick up the pieces of her failed business and start over–or even try to make amends with Lillian by offering to bake the wedding cake and desserts for her friend’s wedding–she just tries to get the guy back. Please. It would’ve been a much more interesting angle if Annie had been portrayed as regaining her confidence, tapping into her creative energies, and rebuilding both her business *and* her friendships in the process–but the filmmakers took the easy way out and went for the cheap rom-com score. Another blow that propels the idea of women’s self-actualization (and taking responsibility for their own lives!) *backwards* while people laughingly call this a “feminist” movie.

    Plus, I do concur with Casey that pretty much everyone in the film treated one another horribly–even the supposed “innocents” of the movie, Lillian and Irish Cop Boyfriend. The only one who seemed to have a supportive word or action for anyone was Megan’s character–and of course, that had to be turned into a joke, given the filmmakers chose to make Megan a sideshow character, probably based on McCarthy’s appearance. I ended up feeling nothing for the story or the characters, and the few giggles my husband and I had at the potty humor were incidental and forgotten. As my husband later remarked, it’s the kind of movie that grows OFF you.

    Reply
  53. Your enjoyment level of certain films depends on your IQ level. The reviewer in this case obviously has an IQ at or above the mean and therefore is able to identify the myriad shortcomings in this abysmal dreck. Science suggests that who liked Bridesmaids fall somewhere in the ‘Circus Carny’ range of Intelligence Quotient.

    Seriously, any movie that has to rely on scatological humor is probably comprised of its source material, e.g.: crap.

    Oh, and this movie was the last straw for Rotten Tomatoes. I’ll never trust their review aggregation again. A 90% for one of the worst movies ever made? I’ll just start coming to this site for movie recommendations…

    Reply
    • Grokwatersharing

      Best analysis I’ve seen yet in terms of an explanation acceptable to me in reference to the “mainstream accolades” afforded this POS feature film! Thanks, Jim

      Reply
  54. Yes. Awful movie, awful script, awful acting and not funny. Embarrassing for the cast to have been fooled into thinking they were acting in something entertaining.

    Reply
  55. Great review of a truly terrible film. I even subjected myself to the extended cut AND watched every outtake and deleted/alternate scene. I effectly watched about 4 hours of this film. The Irish cop and jewellery store manager are the best things in it.

    I did laugh once in the four hours. At a deleted scene where Annie tries to get her job back at the store but once again fails when dealing with customers. One reason listed in the many as to why she is a terrible employee by Michael Hitchcock’s character: Annie once aloud the return of a necklace that had ‘clearly been up someones ass’. Maybe it was boredom or maybe frustration. But I did laugh. However this film really should not exist.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

